MusicBrainz smartphone app

There is actually a MusicBrainz for Android app, which hasn’t received much (if any) love for a long time:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.musicbrainz.mobile

So if by “smartphone” you mean Android, perhaps you would be interested in helping with (or taking over?) maintenance of that app? :smiley:

2 Likes

I have borrow a smartphone once for the purpose that @ClaudeVernier describes as it happens that I would buy duplicates. I remember that crucial information was missing while browsing my collection and I had to fallback to the website collection page.
I don’t remember what was missing, it was something that would identify a specific edition, like catalogue numbers, track lists, I don’t remember.
I say that because if Claude has the same aim as me, there is hope. :slight_smile:
But unfortunately I do not have smartphone, so take it only as an advice.

1 Like

I am a Microsoft technologies developer. I was planning on writing my App with the Cordova framework which makes application compatible with Android and iPhones, it is not a miracle framework that makes everything out of the box, but it can help to build apps for several platform with only one app.

I had a look at the code of the Android app, it is a quite large app and well documented but still my lack of knowledge of Android was revealed to me… I’d be happy to help but I don’t know how yet.

Cheers,
Claude

2 Likes

I found the Android app recently under the products menu on MusicBrainz, and was very excited about the possibility to look up releases by barcode while shopping. I think what it lacks is (like @jesus2099 said) the possibility to show more detailed information about releases and other entities in the app. So any work on the existing app or new projects would be great.

2 Likes