AutoEditor Election: Is it 'by design' that only AutoEditors can vote?

There are actually two AutoEditor Election threads.
On both you can only response and vote for as AutoEditor.

Is it by design that only existing AutoEditors can vote and response on AutoEditor Elections?

4 Likes

There is a whole category: Autoeditors

It’s open for everybody to read, but not post in.
But the actual elections are going on here:

https://musicbrainz.org/elections

Interesting.:thinking:

1 Like

It is a good question because as a long time editor, I would have liked to be able to comment/object some autoeditor elections in the normal process.
But maybe it would not be manageable and trustworthy to allow anyone in the vote.

4 Likes

I think at least the discussion could be open to anybody.
What’s the harm in hearing what “normal” editors think?
Currently not even the nominee can easily comment on their nomination.

4 Likes

I am not sure the discussion should be that open. There are “styles”, “agendas”, and work ethics that may need to be discussed. While a AutoEditor is not at the level of a system administrator they are at an elevated level of trust. IMO aspects of behavior should be open for discussion among the other AutoEditors, not the general user population.

4 Likes

I’d like everyone who has concerns about a proposed autoeditor to be facilitated in bringing their concerns to the discusion.
An example where this would be beneficial: If a nominee has riled a small mob of their fellow editors it would be good to know that and check how it had happened before making them an autoeditor.
(I think having voting rights restricted to autoeditors is a good idea.
And think that pk will make a good autoeditor.)

3 Likes

I regret my reply it was not well thought out. Discussing people brings up ethical and legal issues. I feel confident that if guidelines for selection are not in place Rod will do so.