Tagging a huge collection

So I’m kinda new to this software and don’t exactly know how it works yet.
I installed it because iTunes completely destroyed the organisation of my 1 TB collection and I wanted to get everything organised again as fast as possible.

My problem is that my collection exists of more then apparently 52.000 files…
I tried just dragging the whole disc into the program but it looks like this is gonna take weeks.
How am I supposed to do this?

1 Like

You’re asking questions in the right place.
If Picard is running it’s way through 52,000 files right now I am not sure whether you should just wait.
Or do something else.

Better qualified volunteer assistance will arrive soon from what I’ve seen.

Hang in there.

1 Like

Start small and work your way up. Remember Picard/Musicbrainz is aimed more at accuracy than speed. It’s not going to be fully automatic. Start with a couple of releases, then in the next batch, tackle a larger group. Keep adjusting until you have a batch size you feel comfortable with.

Or you could do like I do and add each and every individual release slowly and meticulously. It’s only taken me 7 3/4 years to get from the "A"s to the "O"s. :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:

1 Like

Found this which will make you better informed but no better off if Picard is currently working on 50,000 files.

To the above I can add that Picard is built to “save what has been processed”.

The questions I’d like to know the answer to if my computer was working on 50,000 songs is,“How long should I wait before deciding that interrupting the process and turning Picard off would be a good idea?”
And, “How could I tell if Picard has frozen?”

Well, it has been running for a few days and I chose to stop it just now, think I’m gonna try doing it in batches.
It sometimes froze but always started working again after a while, it was just really slow.

Would be interested to hear roughly how many of the 50,000 were tagged by Picard in that time.