Songwriting Credits

I’m a beginner developer making a website in which users can upload songs. I’m going to put these songs through a fingerprinting api (like arccloud), which will validate the name of the song the user puts in.

I also need an API that returns the songwriting credits (royalty receivers) of the song.

You guys have the Artist Credits, which hopefully returns the songwriters for a given song? I need to validate the songwriters the user puts in for their uploaded songs, and I’m researching a way to do that.

The majority of songs that will be uploaded will be previously unreleased, so I can turn the process around and input all unrecognised songs in your database.

Does any of this sound feasible? I’m using Rails to build the site.

You’ll probably be more interested in works than recordings (which are where you’re seeing the artist credits), and the writer/composer/lyricist relationships attached to them. Unfortunately, a lot of songs don’t have their works in the database and instead are just present as recordings.

I also have no idea what the backend looks like, and what is involved in getting a service like that approved.

There is also https://acoustid.org/ that will fingerprint a songs to find the musicbrainz recording id if someone has submitted this data.
From that you can look up the musicbrainz database and find the work id for that recording.

Our database do have writing credits but we do not guarantee it to be complete and accurate.
It is not something we would recommend you base royalty payments on as it may not have a record or may credit the wrong person.

[quote=“daveasdf, post:1, topic:246708”]…The majority of songs that will be uploaded will be previously unreleased…[/quote]Are you sure that you will find any online information at all?
If this songs are previously unreleased, how can you assume that someone else has already entered informations about it?