Releases without tracklist and Big Finish Productions

So I’m looking at my Big Finish released (yes I’m a Doctor Who fan) and found entries which state “This is the CD release of the recording, requires https://tickets.metabrainz.org/browse/MBS-8725 to be resolved for proper release format information”

Given I have the actual CDs and so have the proper track listing; can upload disc ID, etc. is there any reason I can’t provide the details.

For eg. in the case of https://musicbrainz.org/release/ec41f37a-8084-48b7-aaad-d924c339d4ca the listing is simply (assuming we follow the audiobook guidelines):

1. Weapon of Choice, Part 1
  2. Weapon of Choice, Part 2
  3. Weapon of Choice, Part 3
  4. Weapon of Choice, Part 4
  5. Weapon of Choice, Part 5
  6. Weapon of Choice, Part 6
  7. Weapon of Choice, Part 7
  8. Weapon of Choice, Part 8
  9. Weapon of Choice, Part 9
  10. Weapon of Choice, Part 10
  11. Weapon of Choice, Part 11
  12. Weapon of Choice, Part 12
  13. Coming soon… Galifrey: Square One

There is then the question of credited artist. I think the whole list of performers ( by Alan Barnes, Lalla Ward, Louise Jameson, Hugo Myatt, Seán Carlsen, John Leeson, Trevor Littledale, Miles Richardson, Daniel Hogarth, Andy Coleman, Stephen Mansfield, Lynda Bellingham & Helen Goldwyn) shown on this release is a bad way to go. Surely the author / writer of the piece as the artist and the performers added as relationships would be better?

In the case of Big Finish; the release (group?) title needs to show the release number … e.g. in this case Galifrey: 1.1 Weapon of Choice

Any thoughts?

1 Like

You got the point, just go ahead and add as much data as you can/want, the original editor did not have access to this kind of information and left it empty for future editors to complete.

There is already a (long but interesting) discussion about entering audio dramas into the database, it even mentions the examples you are now interested in: