In the notes to a proposed recording merge I said that, to my understanding, relationships from a source recording are moved to the target as part of the merge. However I don’t have a definitive source for that statement. Can anyone confirm or deny?
I think the following are not copied in a merge:
- name, artist credit, and length (target’s values are preserved)
- disambiguation comment
- annotation? (just a guess, but it seems similar to disambiguation)
And, as I understand it, any edit history from the source that’s before the creation date of the target is also lost, which is why merging into the older MBID is preferred.