Recording artist credit for DJ mix tracks

Usually for DJ-mixed tracks, online stores use “Various Artist” as artist credit. But MusicBrainz display warning when track artist credit set to “Various Artist”, so I use DJ mixer as artist credit or [unknown] if the DJ mixer is unknown. But on edit #90302913, other editor vote no on my edit, so I wonder what is the correct artist credit for DJ mix tracks?

I’ve set the DJ-mixer as the artist previously, but I have also seen cases where each of the track’s artists are given a split credit. for example:

if it’s a single recording (one long audio file), then you can credit with a slash between each artist, similar to what was done on track 10 of disc 1 above.

I will note, I’m not too experienced adding DJ-mixes, but I don’t think many on the forums are… :melting_face:

No clear answer as it depends of the content and how it’s promoted.

To make it more easy I personnally split between those cases:

In other words think about how you listen to the release: Do you pick it for the mix performance or as it s a nice compilation of tracks you like?

Then that’s not a perfect science and I tend to keep DJ/Compiler credited when going to some obscure release where the name is used to credit the work done and not just for marketing :slight_smile:
ex: Release “Enchanting Songs of Thailand and Cambodia” by Jaro Sounder - MusicBrainz

1 Like

Sorry if I misunderstand your answer, but I’m discussing about track-level artist credit, not release-level artist credit. For release artist credit, I agree with you.

On digital release of DJ mixed album, they usually contain unmixed version of tracks and a long DJ-mixed track at the end of the release, like this one. On digital store, those “end-of-album” DJ mix tracks usually have “Various Artist” as artist credit. But if you enter “Various Artist” as track artist credit, MusicBrainz will give you warning like this:

So I don’t know if DJ-mixed track is legitimate use of Various Artist.