Newbie here - Updating old cd-rips

Hi all,

So, I´m a dj and have a big bunch of tracks that I back in the days have ripped from my old CD collection.
Album, Titles and Artist info is correct, but back then I didnt consider the MP3 “revolution” to what it is today, and therefor I would like to add Year and maybe genres of the tracks as well, as it really would help my sorting.

What I would like help to, is how to maintain all the current info on all tracks, and only add the things that I feel could be missing: Year and Genre…

Cause when I select, say 100 tracks and do the Scan, it comes up with other album-info than the one I have, which I would like to keep.

Anyone who could tell me how to do this?

Thanks for your time. :slight_smile:

If you only want to update a single tag you can add the list of tags you don’t want to get changed in “Options > Tags > Preserve these tags …”. See the following post for details:

If you have your files reasonable well tagged, and it looks like you have, you should always use first Cluster and the Lookup to find the album info on MusicBrainz. This will usually give you the best results.

Use scan for difficult cases, e.g. wrong or very incomplete / missing tags (e.g. titles only “Track 01”).

4 Likes

@outsidecontext - Thank you so much for taking the time to reply. Very much appreciated.

It seems quite simple to do, following the process in the link :slight_smile:

Have a great weekend. :pray:

2 Likes

One thing to note: Picard is not really build for this updating of only a single tag, and it supports quite a lot of tag already by default. So if you really want to prevent Picard from writing any tags other than year and genre you will probably need a long list of preserved tags combined with a couple of $unset scripts to remove tags.