MusicBrainz website responsive theme for mobiles?

Has there been a consideration of a responsive mobile theme for the MusicBrainz website?

Apparently more people use a mobile device (tablet, smartphone) than a desktop PC, to access the web and carry out searches.

I can see editing being as issues, but just being able to view the site on mobile (rather than using an App) would be a big step forward.

3 Likes

I completely agree with you @iantresman !

Look here, click link below, wait until test has been done and see the results:

mobile friendly test

Also, the site could use a nice and responsive graphics design. After all, it is a music Encyclopedia and should be attractive for visitors! I could help making a sparkling design for the Music Brainz website, as I am also a graphics designer/website developer :slight_smile:

4 Likes

[quote=ā€œSamsom_Productions, post:2, topic:166754ā€]
I could help making a sparkling design for the Music Brainz website, as I am also a graphics designer/website developer :slight_smile:[/quote]I would also be interested in tackling this, I think @caroline-g was looking into options already though?
I have some time coming up, even if we canā€™t code the whole site, perhaps we can put some ideas into a thread for future use.
And to be honest, responsive CSS isnā€™t that complicated (until everything breaks!) so maybe we can just do itā€¦

If Caroline could let us know if this would be useful, we can go ahead and do it :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Yep @aerozol thatā€™s a good idea:

An idea related to making the CSS responsive:
Google requires a minimal size of 2.2vw for text, to accept it as ā€œreadableā€ on mobile devices. As 2.2vw is quite large when you see it on Desktops especially when viewing it at full screen, we could decide on making a seperate desktop and mobile version of the Music Brainz website, just like Bandcamp has :slight_smile: