MusicBrainz and the "right to be forgotten"

It appears that artist intent/statement is also to be followed when the artist is not wanting to be on MB and invokes the European Union “right to be forgotten” privacy law.

Though exactly what that would mean if, for example, Prince had decided he wanted to be forgotten, moved to Europe and asked to be removed from the database is not clear.
Special purpose artists [anonymous] & [unknown], might need to be increased to [forgotten].

Though I wonder if deceased people have the right to be forgotten?
I suspect not.

I’m no lawyer, but I do know a little bit about the EU’s General Data Protection Regulation, which includes the right to be forgotten.

The right to be forgotten is not absolute, and there are exceptions. For example, the Regulation states (emphasis mine):

However, the further retention of the personal data should be lawful where it is necessary, for exercising the right of freedom of expression and information, for compliance with a legal obligation, for the performance of a task carried out in the public interest or in the exercise of official authority vested in the controller, on the grounds of public interest in the area of public health, for archiving purposes in the public interest, scientific or historical research purposes or statistical purposes, or for the establishment, exercise or defence of legal claims.

I wonder if the MetaBrainz Foundation has asked its lawyers for an opinion on how to handle this.

5 Likes

It would be hard to be forgotten if I can still walk into a store and buy your album.

1 Like

True, but that is increasingly rare these days.

My understanding is that they have and that the legal people have taken a cautious approach that allows for forgetting.

Though having read the bolded phrase and subsequent phrases in your reply I now wonder why they formed the view that MB is not excepted.