Merge Discs 1 & 2 and add Disc 3?

I have a 3 disc CD album. Searching MusicBrainz, I’ve found discs 1 and 2 listed as separate albums, but I can’t find any details for disc 3:

Since I have the album, I’d like to add the missing information. However, I’m very new to this, so not quite sure how to go about it! :slightly_smiling_face:

I’ve seen the wiki page on merging releases - should I start with this to merge discs 1 and 2? And then to add the 3rd disc, do I do that from Picard via the Lookup CD function?

Thanks,

1 Like

I suggest you enter your release as a new release in a new release group called “Aspects of Andrew Lloyd Webber: Songs From His Greatest Shows”. Then the other partial releases can be merged into the new (full) release. You should be able to copy the first and second discs from the existing partial releases, which should save you some time.

2 Likes

OK, I’m making progress…

When entering the artists for the tracks, how far do I go? On the back of the CD case, it lists the main singers - I’m OK with that, but on the inlay card, it also says the orchestra and conductor. Do I list those on the Artist Credits as well? What would I put for the Join Phrase?

And I’ve got one track that on the back cover just says “Orchestra” (it’s an instrumental piece). Again, the inlay gives the detail about which orchestra and conductor

1 Like

The artist from the back cover is appropriate for the tracks. All the rest would best be added as separate artist relationships in the relationship editor (link on the right sidebar).

2 Likes

For track artists, I would use the singer for songs and the composer for instrumentals.

Then all the details credits would be added as artist-recording relationships, through the release relationship editor (last tab on release page).

2 Likes