Is it possible to force the creators of new releases to add label and number?

I know it isn’t popular to force anyone doing things for free to do specific things, but after going through a small collection of my songs, and matching them to the DB, I find that many of those entries I look at, and which are a little problematic, seems to lack some vital information, among others: release year, label and catalog number. When I check the history on them they also seem to be chaotic and/or using dubious or deleted sources. I’m no expert on this database so I most often choose another album that fits the song I’m matching, or add a note here on the board. I do sometimes add new albums, but not if what’s already there obviously just needs to be cleaned up.

Release year is, when it’s not the new edition that you bought day one at the store or a Japanese edition with release year printed (with some rare exceptions), always very difficult to figure out.

Now when there is lack of details but many Disc IDs or the release is in several collections already, just ducats the release with only your Disc ID and all details from your edition.

3 Likes

IMHO the more you force people to enter additional data, the less they will contribute at all.

7 Likes

All three of this data fields are actually examples that often is difficult to get or is not available at all.

E.g. label can be quite tricky to figure out, even if one knows this was a release with label. Many releases don’t have a catalogue number or the packaging does not clearly indicate what the catalogue number is.

Also if you make it more difficult to enter data people will often choose not to enter data at all.

6 Likes

I know, but some information should be mandatory. And those that stops adding things because they get forced to add essential stuff are probably not those you want fooling around in a database like this anyway.