any help much appreciated
As release group if the Artist entry is empty this will be deleted automatically. Maybe it was?
Assuming they mean their subscription email, those don’t inform about deleted entities other than labels and artists.
: I was wrong, apparently you also get notified for deleted series and collections
After creating your new artist you’ll see the following (unless you’ve added some relationships while creating it):