Event location for a virtual festival

I’m currently working on adding the Mutants of the Monsters 2020 festival as an event. Because of the emergence of the COVID-19 pandemic, they ended up being able to coordinate the festival to be entirely virtual with the bands performing live on YouTube from their own separate locations (mainly their homes, I think).

Does anyone have any suggestions on how to enter the location of such an event? I imagine these are/will be more and more popular. Do we need “Internet”, “Virtual”, or even “YouTube” added as locations?

I started from this website as a source if anyone wants to look:

https://volatileweekly.com/2020/08/mutants-of-the-monster-virtual-two-day-fest-starts-tonight-at-800pm-est-via-the-arkansas-times-youtube-channel/

I’ve only barely started because I had to add some new artists to MB, so forgive the mess. I’m not very experienced with adding events yet, either.

4 Likes

We might need a [virtual] or [online] special purpose area or place for cases like these.
Only a handful of editors can add Areas, so it would require a ticket.

5 Likes

Opened! Thanks.

8 Likes

This is complex. It is an “online broadcast event”, like a radio show, but the locations will be different for each band.

Normally you have two or three different stages but with these Online events each band has their own stage which will be in different countries. It would be an interesting fact to add where possible. Including if the band’s performance is live or recorded.

2 Likes

Just to clarify–
The UI allows you to create an event that doesn’t have a location attribute, right?

Pre-pandemic, there’s been live-stream events in the past. A little surprising that this hasn’t come up before.

Maybe in this case we would want to interpret “location” as “platform”, and use values like “Youtube” or “SecondLife” or “Zoom”

3 Likes

Huh…
just found this:
http://wiki.secondlife.com/wiki/Live_Performances

2 Likes