Disc ID / Release ambiguity

Newbe. On trying to add my first disc ID, I encountered a situation where one existing Release in MB is extremely close, but is it close enough? As I have no experience in these matters I’m asking for advise.

CD Album: Best Of The Doobies, Warner Bros 1976 Canadian release. Catalog number: CD 3112.

This matches one Canadian release in MB exactly, except for the following differences:

Cntry/Date CD: CA 1976 (no doubt)
Cntry/Date MB: CA 1986

Barcode CD: 07599273352
Barcode MB: 075992733526
A 1986 US release matches the CD barcode exactly.

All 11 track times: match within 1 second to those of the release in MB. (They only match within 6 seconds to the times listed in the CD booklet.)

My question is: Is the CD release the one listed already in MB, in spite of two contradictory bits of data?
It it is, how do I resolve these differences?
If not, how do I duplicate all the existing release data into a new release?

2 Likes

Silly question, but were there actually CDs in 1976? According to Wikipedia, CDs were invented in 1982.

I think that it is your CD that is faulty or this is the copyright date e.g. of the vinyl release rather than the release date of the CD version.

So I think you have the right Release selected. If you want the date that the album was first released (the Original Date / Year is the earliest date of all Releases in the Release Group) of 1976 then you can use a script to set Date to Original Date, and Year to Original Year.

2 Likes

Some of those releases have good, complete sets of cover art. Compare the fine print on your release with the release you think is a match. Any difference in artwork probably means a different release.

4 Likes

Just to add to the replies… the date on the CD is likely the copyright. As @Sophist point out there were no CDs in '76.