Classical works, "part of", and Fantasia

I’m a newbie here, and hopefully not stepping into a minefield (or rehashing settled topics, though I did some searching before posting).

From reading some other threads (e.g., When is a part not a part?), it seems broadly agreed that classical works should not be “part of” the film soundtracks they appear on. For popular works, the clutter of dozens of such relationships would obscure the more meaningful relationship to their true parent work. A notable exception seems to be the Fantasia soundtrack, which has “parts/part of” relationships with each constituent work.

(I stumbled across this while using Beets and its “parentwork” and “alternatives” plugins to create symlinks grouped by a parent work to all of its recordings in my collection. All of the relevant Nutcracker numbers from multiple [non-Fantasia] albums ended up grouped under Fantasia rather than The Nutcracker. No disrespect to Fantasia, but that definitely seems wrong! I’m sure I could come up with a Beets-specific workaround to this quirk, but I feel the issue is more general than this particular tool.)

I can understand an argument that the Fantasia soundtrack stands as its own work, with these other works as parts. But many of them appear in other soundtracks as well, and it seems like a slippery slope. Disney, Stokowski, et al, certainly seemed to think of Fantasia as a concert in visual form, even naming it the “Concert Feature” while in development (see Fantasia (1940 film) - Wikipedia). Seen through this “concert” lens, it does not seem appropriate to view these works as “parts” but simply as performances/recordings.