Change Pig & Dan to Pig&Dan?

howdy I recently started cleaning up my digital music collection and have settled on a musicbrainz + musicbee combo. so I’m still learning the ropes for style/etiquette here

for this artist, judging from the links etc, it seems like “Pig&Dan” is the most proper/common way to format the artist name. some releases here and there use Pig & Dan or Pig and Dan etc though.

should I go ahead and change the artist name to Pig&Dan? and what about all the artist credits?

thanks!

3 Likes

On the track list you generally need to check what is written on the cover and follow that. Artists often change how they write things over the years, and you also need to be careful it is not just the graphic artist being funky.

Random example:

There are spaces in that name.

But also clearly their current style in social media and digital shops is without the spaces.

I would avoid a bulk edit. Just address it on a case by case situation. Especially as many of their tracks are going to appear on compilations where those CDs will have their own style.

Just fix the releases you have in hand. Safer way to do things.

(This compilation have in my hand now has a remix by them… and there are spaces in use on here)

3 Likes

I just submitted an edit to change the artist name to Pig&Dan, and left the individual artist credits as is

however, I just noticed the name was already Pig&Dan until someone changed it literally just a week ago, so we might have a conflict on our hands lol Edit #99550563 - MusicBrainz

5 Likes

I don’t really understand that other edit. The artist clearly prefers to not have spaces in their names. Especially noticeable on the current digital stores that their name is written like that - without spaces.

But sometimes the grammar \ formatting editors are a tough crowd to reason with.