CDJapan + Neowing import scripts

I’ve created a userscript for CDJapan (https://www.cdjapan.co.jp/). This is my first attempt at an import script so let me know if you have any suggestions or issues. Enjoy!

(click install)

5 Likes

Your link sends me to a 404 page :confused:

1 Like

Should be working now

1 Like

Do you know if cdjapan usually has accurate tracklists?

I just remember that they mix Latin (pseudo-release stuff) and Japanese. Maybe Neowing is better for this particular issue?

I don’t really use them, so I don’t know how reliable they are.

They seem to share the same database and therefore share the same issues.

Both have missing tracklists on some releases and as you said frequently mix Latin and Japanese script. Also found some releases are missing on neowing that are available on cdjapan. There’s also the issue of the language barrier since I can’t read Japanese.

Adding support for neowing would be fairly trivial though. The layout is almost identical.

2 Likes

Some feedback:

1. I think you should ignore Neowing’s Distributor field. It is conceptually not the same thing as a MusicBrainz Release Label. For example, the distributor of CDJapan : Bamboo Rendez-Vous [Shipping Within Japan Only] MEIMEI(CV:HANAZAWA KANA) CD Album is “Avex Marketing”, which is never a Release Label in MusicBrainz.
  2. I am seeing Japanese track titles with romanized artist credits (using CDJapan : Bamboo Rendez-Vous [Shipping Within Japan Only] MEIMEI(CV:HANAZAWA KANA) CD Album as an example). I think it will be more useful if the CDJapan importer is strictly for the romanized/transliterated pseudo-release. For both Japanese titles and Japanese artist credits, Neowing would work better.
2 Likes

Thanks for the feedback