Can we add fan-made bootlegs that only have releases on YouTube or in video game mods?

I was wondering if fan-made bootlegs/edits/remixes were out of scope for MusicBrainz or not. Here is one such release I am talking about:

If it’s allowed, would it be added under the artist “the_kovic” or would it go under Mick Gordon and labeled as bootleg?

Here is another example: Quake Champions: Doom Edition - Original Soundtrack (v2.5) - YouTube

This soundtrack has a mod that works in game, with higher quality music downloads available here: https://www.moddb.com/mods/quake-champions-doom-edition/downloads/qcde-soundtrack-in-game

3 Likes

I’m far from an expert on this, but for the Doom Eternal case, it seems like it might hinge on how transformative the version on YouTube is, i.e. whether it’s just a reordering of the tracks from the official release or something more.

This is from the video’s description:

This is a pet project of mine. I was annoyed by the track listing of the official version which put the songs in random order and I was also annoyed by the mixing of some of the tracks (Super Gore Nest being the biggest offender). I set to do something about it, reordering the tracks to tell the game’s story in musical form (as was the case with DOOM 2016’s OST), smoothing out the transitions and even re-mixing some tracks completely (examples include Super Gore Nest or Armored Response Coalition), re-doing the stitches and cutting out ballast. Hopefully, my changes met my goal to improve the pacing and make a more dynamic, logical and pleasant experience.

There’s also a comment from the uploader with further details: