Bot based on Discogs Data

Hi everyone! :wave:

First of all, I’m new around, so bear with me if I ask any silly questions! :slight_smile: Long story short, I’m a Data Engineer and I’m a music enthusiast; I haven’t had a pet project for some time and a few weeks ago I stumbled upon Musicbrainz again and decided to check if I could contribute.

My proposition is to find ways to extract information from the Discogs data dumps and automatically create edits. There are so many possibilities, I don’t even know where to start. :smile:

Here’s an example: if I have a Musicbrainz Artist connected with a Discogs Artist (via a URL), I can extract URLs from the Discogs side and suggest edits in Musicbrainz (for URLs that doesn’t exist yet, obviously). I ran this analysis just focusing on finding Spotify links and could find 2217 Spotify links on Discogs side that don’t exist on Musicbrainz.

With that said, I already found these links:

I guess what I’m trying to do here is something that looks like a Bot, to automate creation of edits; something to complement the existing userscripts (I haven’t explored them yet).

With all of that said (wall of text, I know :sweat_smile:), I have a few questions:

1. Is it a good idea to automatically extract data from Discogs and load it in Musicbrainz? From a license point of view I think it’s fine, am I missing something?
  2. Does anyone have any suggestion on what would be more useful for me to tackle? The example I mentioned regarding URLs is quite simple but I’m not sure how useful it is.
  3. Where can I find other bots that work similarly to what I’m suggesting here? Are there any internal pipelines doing the similar work that would make such a bot redundant?
  4. Any other databases / data dumps / APIs besides Discogs that would be interesting to explore?

Best,
João António

3 Likes

This is better to do with a human involved to check the data…

The script that many of us use is really well written, but still makes errors.