ASCAP, BMI, etc parsing

Greetings.

Probably my question will be kinda offtop, but still correlate with MB (at least for me).

I’m trying to find (or check) exact authorship for some tracks/albums and thus use PRO data for this (+also get some other data like ISWC, id in database, etc.). But since manually checking every track using site itself is very boring and time consuming, i got an idea to write some kind of parser who could automatically get track and composer names as argumnets and then send http request to the site.

I am using google sheet with java script for this. But since i am not a programmer and thus cannot understand/know all details, i am calling for help on this forum, hoping that this idea could be interested for someone else or uselful for community overall.

We shouldn’t take writing credits from those sources.
The purpose of those sources is to know who to send royalties to, not to reproduce artistic credits from booklets.

• When a band chooses to credit band, those sources will split credits to each credit, which is not correct as A, B, C and D did not write lyrics in fact and they all did not write music either, not necessarily.
  • When a song falls into public domain after some years, the original credits may be replaced by P.D./D.P. in those sources
1 Like

I completely understand your point of view, jesus2099, but i forgot to mention that i work only with soundtrack releases (or to be clearer - SCORES, i.e. only background music for the film/game and not the licensed tracks used there) and thus in 99% cases we are talking of finding composer authorship and not lyricist or another roles.