Artist edit advice

Hi. I am new to MusicBrainz but already a huge fan. I haven’t made too many edits yet.

I would like to edit this artist:

Specifically, I would like to split some releases into a new artist, Onelinedrawing. This is currently an alias, but I believe it should be a separate artists as described here:
https://beta.musicbrainz.org/doc/Style/Artist#Performance_names_and_legal_names

“In some cases, a person (or, more rarely, a group) can perform under multiple names that they actually consider different projects, and not just alternative names. In that case, you should add each artist separately. If they’re a person, a separate legal name artist should be added, and linked to all performance names with the is person (“performs as”) relationship. In this case, do not add legal name aliases to the performance names. For groups, just link each group to their members.”

Onelinedrawing is definitely a specific project as opposed to work under his full name. This is how it is any other music collection. For instance on Last.fm they are separate.

So, two questions:

• Do I need to have a conversation about this somewhere before editing?
  • And how do I do such an action? I would assume it requires multiple edits.

Thanks!

1 Like

If you start putting through edits, other editors can vote and comment, so the conversation is usually held in the edit notes. People who’ve subscribed to the artist will be notified of your edits, so they’ll be aware of what you’re trying to do.

To my knowledge, yes, it’s going to take a lot of edits… Starting with each release you have to change the artist to the new artist, make sure it’s changed for every track, and the release group, and the recordings, and then do that for each album… It’s much easier to merge than to split artists unfortunately :S
Maybe someone else has a quicker way to do it that I’m not aware of!

One thing though, I’m not convinced that they should be split!