Africa/Toto - track length conflict

Hi,
I’m new to MusicBrainz so please treat me gently!

I’ve been tagging some digitized music using Picard and have found that for one of my albums - “American Heartbeat” (1982, Epic Records EPC 10045) - there is a significant differences in the actual track lengths compared with those given in the MusicBrainz database.

I’ve listed some differences here - the first value is MusicBrainz and the value in brackets the actual digitized track length I measured:
Track 2 (Rosanna/Toto) 5:31 (3:59)
Track 3 (Who’s Crying Now/Journey) 5:01 (3:45)
Track 8 (More Than a Feeling/Boston) 4:41 (3:17)
Track 9 (Africa/Toto) 4:55 (3:56)

Total length 65:56 (59:00 approx)

These are the worst and there are another 6 tracks on this album that MusicBrainz says are more than 20 secs longer than they actually are. I can understand that precise lengths might vary by a few seconds depending on the length of the lead-in/lead-out I chose, but wouldn’t account for the discrepancies I’m seeing.

I have another recording of “Rosanna/Toto”, on the “101 Power Ballads CD2” compilation - this gives the track length as 3:59 (agrees with my vinyl). When I look this CD up on MusicBrainz it takes me to a different entry for “Rosanna” (7" version) - not the same one I saw from the vinyl lookup.

Can someone explain what’s going on? I’m obviously not fully understanding the MusicBrainz database.

Thanks.

2 Likes

Have you got a CD? Or vinyl \ cassette? When I find this album I don’t see a CD version. If you are tagging with Picard I am guess you work from a CD?

It is quite possible that your CD has longer tracks and not in the MB database. Or plain people have entered duff data for the LP \ cassette editions.

Ah - maybe it is the Vinyl? If it is the Vinyl, then discogs have some different times to the MB listing which seem closer to yours: https://www.discogs.com/Various-American-Heartbeat/release/4608741 That implies MB just has duff data here.