Advice on scanning cover art

I needed a new printer and this time I ordered an all-in-one, so I’m about to take the plunge on scanning cover art. I’m just hoping to get a head start on the learning curve. :smiley_cat:

I’ve read this page, but I understand that some people prefer to scan at 600dpi?

When it comes to two-page spreads, is there a preference between keeping the pages together or splitting into separate images?

Is there a “best” image format/setting?

I imagine the printer will come with some scanning software, but is there 3rd party software that might be helpful?

Is it possible/worthwhile to create composite images for LPs or posters that are bigger than the scanner?

Any other input is welcome. Thanks!

4 Likes

I’m not a scanning expert, but I scan using a Pixma MP470 all-in-one (that I don’t print on because the ink is total rip), and you can have a look at my scans to see if you like the result/ compare if you want.

I scan at 600dpi in photoshop, crop it in photoshop, and then save as highest quality jpeg with no further post processing.

Exceptions are if it’s something tricky like gloss ink or fluro and it doesn’t represent what I have in hand, in which case I will use the levels slider and maybe hue/saturation to try get it closer to the product. I also use photoshop to stitch together posters etc bigger than A4.

Two page spreads I always stitch together or leave as is (easier to seperate them later but hard to seamlessly fit together again), for things like the front page of a booklet I’ll upload both the spread (front and back in one) and the front separately - it doesn’t hurt.

I haven’t tackled LPs but I’ve thought about it… the stitching and scanning will be a big time investment. I’m only tempted for LP’s that have no cover image of any quality online at all. Let me know how it goes :wink:
Alternatively, maybe your library has an A3 scanner? Probably worth the time to check.