Adding scanned Cover Art - What is acceptable?

Hello, I’m pretty new to Music Brainz (My account has some months, but still really new at editing). I recently added a release, here: https://musicbrainz.org/release/1aacf992-8d3a-49e6-8371-8bdcad1baa08 (Feel free to vote and edit anything I may have gotten wrong, would be much appreciated), the only other release on the group was a Digital Release with no Cover Art, so I decided to add my own, but I had some difficulties:

To sum it up into a short question, What is acceptable when talking about a scan?

• Color correction: I didn’t correct the cover because I don’t have a professionally calibrated display, I’m not versed in the art of image editing (using the guide to add cover arts was my first real use of GIMP) and the only way I tried to correct without destroying it was saturating, which I ended up leaving since it still didn’t look quite right in my eyes.
    The question is: should I still have saturated, even a little bit if it meant it was closer to the real cover? What if it was a tad exaggerated but still closer to it? Is no color correction at all acceptable?

• Cropping: While trying to crop another cover art, I realized that while trying to crop white space from the scanning, I was also cropping a little bit from 2 sides, like 3 or 4 pixels, but the top part was aligned.
    How much cropping is too much? Should I scan it until everything is almost perfectly squared and then start cutting?