Adding missing genre tags to lots of MP3 files

I have a lot of files without genre tags, so I’m trying to fix that. I’m not an expert, and know nothing about scripting; I’m basically using mostly defaults, working on Linux Mint.

I thought Picard would automatically add genre tags, and I wasn’t really picky about exactly what was used, but I found out this is not the case. I tried loading the files without genres, and found that if there was a blank genre tag, Picard would fill it in, but if there was no genre tag, it would not add one. So my first question would be how to add genre tags to files that don’t have one.

I experimented with manually trying to add the missing tag, and got 3 different results. Either it would add a blank tag, then fill it in on lookup, or it would not add a tag no matter what I did, or it would actually show the tag values in the same dialog as adding the tag, then fill it in on lookup or refresh. I don’t know why some albums would not allow me to even create an empty tag, but I don’t really want to do this manually if I can help it.

Is there a setting that affects any of this that might help? I I absolutely have to, I could probably figure out how to write the scripting, although a pointer to the right documentation or syntax would be appreciated.

EDIT: I learned something today about manually adding the tag. It seems that if I manually add one, I also need to populate it with at least one item for it to stick around. Also, I think the anomaly I referred to above about having values was me spacing out and not seeing the genre tag, so the program knew it was there and added to it automatically.

1 Like

Hello, @MartyFried , and welcome to MusicBrainz!

It sounds like the essence of what you are asking is, “How can I operate Picard so that it will add whatever genres the MusicBrainz database knows about to my music files?” Do I understand you correctly?