Tracks get tagged with Tracknn instead of real title (where nn is 01, 07, 15, etc.)

I’m fairly new to Picard, sure is neat, I wish I had something like this 20 years ago.

I am currently re-ripping my CD collection using EAC and Picard. I’m ripping to FLAC. I don’t have any local custom scripts.

On a few of my albums, instead of the track’s Title as shown in the Picard window, the actual title field “TIT2” is set to “Track08”
So far, I can’t seem to change it, even though Picard displays the proper “The M.T.A” on the window

Here is what I see using github.com/dhowden/tag/mbz’s tag utility

tag -raw ~/whome/Music/flac/Kingston\ Trio/Live\ at\ Crazy\ Horse/Track08.flac

Metadata Format: ID3v2.3
File Type: MP3
Title: Track08
Album: Live at the Crazy Horse
Artist: The Kingston Trio
Track: 8 of 16
Disc: 1 of 1
Picture:

“TIT2”: “Track08”
“TPE1”: “The Kingston Trio”
“TSSE”: “FLAC.EXE -6 -V -T "ARTIST=The Kingston Trio" -T "TITLE=Track08" -T "ALBUM=Live at the Crazy Horse" -T "DATE=" -T "TRACKNUMBER=08" -T "GENRE=" -T "COMMENT=" -T "BAND=" -T "ALBUMARTIST=" -T "COMPOSER=" -T "DISCNUMBER=1" -T "TOTALDISCS=1" -T "TOTALTRACKS=16" -o”

What am I doing wrong?
Thanks
Pat

First, welcome to the Community. You’re in the right place with your questions.

You haven’t really told us what steps you are taking in Picard, so please forgive me if I seem to be asking or suggesting something obvious…

The information reported by tag seems to be the tag information stored by EAC in the files. Also the fact that it is showing the File Type as MP3 when you’re ripping to FLAC looks odd.

Are you matching your files to a release in the right-hand pane before saving from Picard? See the Matching Files to Tracks section of the Picard User Guide for more information.