Tagging for Noobs

I downloaded Picard and it is matching well … now I want to organize and write out my files but I want specific tagging. I am a noob to this tool and NOT a programmer or scripter. Is there a Dummies guide to tagging or would some kind soul be willing to lend me a hand? :sunglasses:

I am one of those needy audiophiles so I plan to share my library on a DLNA server on my home server but I want to be able to be “picky” depending on how I am listening to the music so I would like top-level folders for music format.

My ideal folder structure would be:
.[Format][Artist][Album][Track #][Song Title]

Format - MP3, FLAC, AIF, WAV, DSD, etc.
I’d like to have “Soundtracks” as an artist as applicable
I’d like to have “Compilations” as an artist as applicable

I also have a bunch of random MP3’s not necessarily grouped in an album or are single songs (aka 1 hit wonders) and not sure what to do here … any suggestions?

I think a file naming script like the following (untested code off the top of my head) will create the directory structure and file naming you are seeking, with the exception that I have included the track number and song title (along with the disc number if it’s a multi-disc album) together as part of the filename.

$if2(%_extension%,[Unknown Format])/
$if($in(%_secondaryreleasetype%,soundtrack),Soundtracks,$if(%compilation%,Compilations,%albumartist%))/
%album%/
$if($gt($if2(%totaldiscs%,0),1),%discnumber%-)$num($if2(%tracknumber%,1),2) %title%

I also encourage you to have a look at the Picard User Guide for more information and beginner tutorials.

6 Likes

I would suggest to include the release year in your structure.
There are cases where the same album from the same artist will be re-released some years (or even 20 years) later.
Without the year it becomes difficult to distinguish between the two releases.

2 Likes

Just I’m wondering, do you want to know the file extension or the type of the sampling with quality ?