Tag Issues-Occasional Multiple Artist Listings

Hello. How do I eliminate multiple artists listings? I’m using Kodi and under “Artists” one song has (say) John Doe & Richard Roe and right below there’s John Doe/Richard Roe. I even have one song that’s showing the artists four times because there’s four artists credited.

I’m new to all this and the only way I know is to change the accreditation to a single artist and strip out the MB tags. But surely there’s a better way because other songs with multiple artists aren’t displaying like these. Thanks in advance for any help.

You mean the song is listed twice?

I am not sure why this happens, have never experienced it myself (but haven’t used Kodi for a few months now). Have you searched the Kodi forums? Maybe also ask there, people over there might now better :slight_smile: But I know there are also a few Kodi users around in the MetaBrainz Community.

Actually, IDK if the song itself is listed multiple times as I’m currently adding artist thumbnails. As of now, it’s multiple listings of artists in a coupe of instances…

I don’t think it has anything to do with Kodi, as all the other songs with multiple artists display only one listing. I guess it’s the way the metadata is written in these two songs that makes the multiple entries since it’s not a universal issue. I suppose I could ask at the Kodi forums but I’m pretty sure that since this is confined to just two songs, they’ll point back here.

If it is only specific files you should probably start by giving details about those files (tags present in the files, file format). Also compare those to other, working, files with multiple artists. There must be something different in the affected files after all.

1 Like

Do these help? The Buddy Emmons/Lenny Breau artist listing in Kodi has only one slot. The David Bromberg/Vassar Clements artist listing in Kodi is shown twice. It’s clear there’s a lot more artist name tags in the one.