Store multiple album interpreters in a meaningful way

Hi@all,

I have been using MusicBrainz Picard for a while, but I am not a professional. I have dealt with the configuration before use because this is not unimportant :slight_smile:

Now I would like to refine my setup. I first describe my problem with an example. I have albums from B.B. King. Logically, the album artist in the ID3 tag is “B. B. King”. Now I have another album that has “B.B. King & Eric Clapton” in the album artist. In my Mediaserver (Jellyfin) I can display all album artists of my collection. Here these two are listed as separate album artists.

Personally, I would prefer both to be listed as “B. B. King”. I am not an ID3 professional. Are there other fields in which I can write the additional information (additional album artist)?

It would be nice if I could do this via the script function of MusivBrainz Picard :slight_smile:

with best
pixel24

A lot of what you want to know can be found in Picard’s very comprehensive documentation.

The tag names you see in Picard are mapped internally to ID3 tags (which have 4 character names) - the tag mappings can be found here. This page also defines the internal name which you use with “%” symbols on either side as a script variable.

In some tagging formats, some variables are not mapped to tags, but for ID3 all variables are mapped to tags including any you create yourself - except for variables beginning with a “_” that hidden i.e. not shown in the main tag list (but you can see them using a plugin I wrote many years ago called “View script variables”).

(And if you cannot find a way to do what you want using scripts but have some python programming skills, then you can often find a way to achieve it by writing a plugin.)

Artist names are stored in several variables - and these are usually also used in file naming scripts to define the path and filename for music files - and all of these can be modified if you wish using scripts.