[Solved] How can I add a list of instruments to a file or folder name?

Hello, I’m new to MusicBrainz Picard and I was wondering how I can do this…

I’m trying to add the instruments (for a track) to the file or folder name that I am creating elsewhere.

Here’s an album I’m working with:
Ms. Jazz

Here’s the script I’m currently using:
$if2(%albumartist%,%artist%)/

$if(%albumartist%,%album%/,)

$if($gt(%totaldiscs%,1),%discnumber%-,)$if($and(%albumartist%,%tracknumber%),$num(%tracknumber%,2) ,)$if(%_multiartist%,%artist% - ,)%title% - %performer:instrument%

How do I get the track “You Are the Sunshine of My Life” look like this:

01 You Are the Sunshine of My Life - bass - drums - guitar - piano - tenor saxophone - vocals

So happy I found MusicBrainz! Thanks for any help or suggestions.

You need to install the “Instruments” plugin by David Mandelberg if you want to script on the instruments. It should be as simple as,

$join(%_instruments%, - )

However, you are likely to exceed maximum characters for the filepath.

edit: Fixed typo.

3 Likes

Wow! Thanks for the quick response. I made sure I had downloaded the plugin, and that it was enabled. Restarted MusicBrainz Picard twice to be doubly sure.

Then I went ahead and added it to my “Name files like this” script:

$if(%albumartist%,%album% - %genre%/,)

$if($gt(%totaldiscs%,1),%discnumber%-,)$if($and(%albumartist%,%tracknumber%),$num(%tracknumber%,2) ,)$if(%_multiartist%,%artist% - ,)%title% - $join(%instruments%, - )

But I’m still not seeing the instruments listed. Sorry if I’m too new to understand what to do here. Any other suggestions?

Again, thank you for your help!

Sorry, it’s %_instruments%

1 Like

I’m noticing that I’m not seeing %_instruments% in my tag list that pops up when I type “%”. I see %performer%.

Not sure what I’m doing wrong or what I have to do :confused: