Should my MusicBrainz screen look like this?

I’m new to MusicBrainz. I have used Bliss in the past but lately it just runs so slowly that my system times out. Dan Gravell (Bliss code writer) tried to get it to work but he too finally gave up. After using/reading beginner information, and Googleing MusicBrainz Picard I realize it is much more complex than the Bliss program. I recently ripped approx. 500 cds and hoped that I would be able to clean up and fill in missing metadata (especially cover art in my library). (I use the Bluesound App and both Mac Os and ios to control my system.) I understand that I should be dragging folders from the left hand pane, but the only folders I have there are for the Mac Os and about 6,000 FLAC files (see screenshot). Did I screw something up? I’m at a point where I’m afraid to do anything further (ripping 500 cds is a soul-crushing exercise). I would appreciate any advice or direction. Thank you for your time. Bill

1 Like

Before you continue, please make sure to backup all of your rips, then you won’t have a problem with experimenting with Picard.

1 Like

Picard works best on albums (rather than single files) and works best when each album is in its own directory. That doesn’t mean it can’t be used on files that are single tracks in one big directory, but it will be much more work.

I can’t decide which you have - it looks like both. The right-hand pane shows lots of complete albums, the left-hand pane shows one big directory.

Anyway, here is how I would go about trying to bring order to chaos…

First try to group the files into something more structured i.e. into directories using a file manager. If you cannot work out which files belong to the same album, then you can try to at least put multiple albums into one directory by searching for files by artist i.e. Art Garfunkel in the hope that they were off one or more of his albums and not a compilation album.