Should music from different sources that don't add information be merged?

Hi, I’m quite new to MusicBrainz and I’m still learning the styles.

In particular I have a question regarding the results of this search. There are three digital releases for this album by Austin Wintory, with one main one and then two others, one for Bandcamp and another for Humble Bundle.

Should these be separate releases? They don’t seem to be different in any way, merely released through a different site, with the same songs and even, in some cases, the same typos in the case of the Bandcamp and Humble Bundle versions. My first thought was that they should be merged together, at the very least the Bandcamp and HB releases, and perhaps all three.

Is there a rule or convention regarding these decisions? Thanks!

1 Like

Per our Editing FAQ:

Releases should only be merged when the following requirements are met:

• The number of tracks are the same
  • The track titles are the same
  • The track lengths are the same (or extremely close if the release has no Disc ID).
  • The country, label, barcode, format, and packaging, are the same
  • The cover art is the same.

I would add to this that the release dates should also be the same (which separates out the Humble Bundle version as it was released ~8 months later).

The 859722919271 release and the Bandcamp release could be separate based on UPC (the Bandcamp release not having one).

It’s also important to respect the work of other editors. In this case, @aerozol has added much valuable information in each release annotation that provides context to how/when/why it was available. I’d say the annotations all grouped together in one release would be far less valuable.

If the Bandcamp and streaming releases were both low-effort and low quality additions they might be candidates for merging, but that isn’t the case here.

1 Like

welcome to the community, @Serene-Arc!~