Problems importing MB Dump files into PostgreSQL

I am interested in querying this database on my local instance of PostgreSQL (admittedly I have never used PostgreSQL before) - The problem is when I try to import the data dump (lets say I want to import the ‘artist_alias’ table), I am getting tons of errors. Here is the command I am attempting to use:

psql database_name_I_created < artist_alias

When I try that I get tons of errors such as:

invalid command \N

Also I get the following:

ERROR: syntax error at or near “&”
LINE 1: & The Fallen Angels

After loading the file into Vi it is immediately obvious that the varchar strings in the dump file have not been qualified with quotes.

A) How am I supposed to get this data into my database
B) There is repeated use of the word ‘metadata’ on the website. Is this the real data? I.E. actual artists, record names, song names, etc. Or is this some kind of metadata used to query the real data?

Also I tried the following instructions:

https://wiki.musicbrainz.org/History:Database_Installation

and step 4 - where it instructs to use the following command:

mbrainz$ for t in * ; do echo date $t ; echo “\copy $t from ./$t” |
psql -U musicbrainz_user importtest && mv $t …/done/ ; done ; echo date Done

Does not work - it just gives me this:

postgres@mpax:~/mbdump_full$ command here
‘>’

It looks like there is a terminator from the command that is incomplete but I cannot figure out what that is.

Ultimately I’m looking for the real data. The actual artist names, song titles, publish dates. I think what is making this challenging is that I am still not fully understanding the overall architecture of the data or the server or even the MB site.

So, any assistance in that regard that you guys could provide would be super helpful!

Thanks

A quick guess is you are not running this as the postgres user and not authenticated with the database.