Picard save function (navigation)

Hello All,

I’m relatively new to MusicBrainz Picard. I’ve watched some videos and read through the forums and have an ok understanding. When sorting mp3s the other day, it was able to cluster and find album info for about 90% of my stuff. But that other 10% it couldn’t locate…likely as they were mixtapes.

My question…

This was a folder (A) of mp3’s that I ran through MBP. For fear of losing data, I had the preferences set so that the renamed files go into a new folder (B). The plan was to first verify all the music was there and named accordingly (folder B), then delete the original folder (A) to save file space.

The problem I have…what do I do with that remaining 10% it couldn’t locate? Just because the tag info was not found doesn’t mean I want to lose that music. And the way that original folder (A) was organized, it would be hell going through trying to find which ones weren’t tagged.

Does that make sense?

They (the 10% it couldn’t find album info on) are all in clustered folders on the left pane. I tried to right-click and save, but nada. Further when I open the folders, now the mp3s within are red with a ‘-’ in front of them. Assume that means the file cannot be found? I’m really confused.

Any help I’d greatly appreciate!

If I understand you right, you had Picard copy the renamed files instead of move. Is that right?

I think the way I’d do it, is verify the files in the new folder look like your renaming script is working right, then rename the new folder and repeat the process, this time move instead of copy. Once you verify it worked, then delete the old new folder.

Now you should have a new folder with properly tagged files and the original folder with the 10% of the files that couldn’t be matched.

Yes, that is 100% correct. Thank you for rephrasing it for me!

I didn’t think about doing that. Move the files instead of renaming. I’ll try that.