Picard Not Responding after 3 hours loading my music

Picard locked up “not responding” and was killed by windows after waiting 3 hours for it to load my music collection, It got to 57770 tracks then just stopped.

How can I get it to scan the whole collection for updating?

(I have >99k tracks)

The short answer is you need to do fewer files at once. There’s a ticket regarding what happens when you give Picard too many files, but there’s no resolution yet.

https://tickets.metabrainz.org/plugins/servlet/mobile#issue/PICARD-840

5 Likes

Ok, Well I am a developer anyway and helped Mixxx to fix the same problem with their library loading (we made it work on folders at a time then write the data out before moving on)
I know i have lots of mis tagged and dupe entries which is why i was trying to use picard to sort them

4 Likes

Awesome, maybe you can help improve Picard in that regard

1 Like

Well just managed to load my discographys folder (only 26k files in there) selected all and hit scan - lets see how that does…

Went straight to Not Responding, although the CPU usage is altering so I am assuming that its still doing stuff just you havent given the gui thread any ability to respond so its being reported as not responding.

1 Like

When Windows puts up “Not Responding” on Picard it is very misleading. What should be displayed is “Please wait, Picard is working really hard. Go make yourself a cup of tea and come back later”.

I get the biggest stalls and delays on mine when it starts going for all the artwork. Especially as I have my Picard setup to pull all art - and that can take minutes grabbing heaps of high quality images for just a couple of albums. Even on a 200Mbps broadband line.

26,000 files will always choke Picard. Cut it down to more manageable chunks. More like batches of hundreds of files at the time. If you think it is slow looking up the data - just wait until it has to write to all of those files.