Need authorization token for Picard

I’m 76, and all this stuff is wayyyy above me. Don’t get me wrong, I’m pretty handy with computer stuff.

I’ve been using MusicBee for at least 10 years. I decided to clean up my database and it’s been a horror show. My d/b is ~ 96 k tracks sourced from ~20 k vinyl albums. All this was done MANUALLY. There were ZERO utility apps available when I started.

I never explored MB’s capabilities. Just out of box, it was multiples better than other apps I have tried. One exception, iTunes. I used that sporadically.

I was aware of Picard, but never used it. It took me about 20-30 hrs to figure out how it works. The documents were unintelligible to me.

My current problem is that I need a token to prove to Picard that I have full access to the MusicBrainz d/b.

2 Likes

My suggestion is to first log into your account at MusicBrainz in your web browser. Then from the General section of Picard’s Options, select the Login button. This should open a page on your browser asking you to confirm that you want Picard to access your account. There is a token shown below the permissions settings, which you then copy and paste into Picard. Then you should be good to go. You shouldn’t have to repeat this unless you choose the Logout option in Picard.

rdswift,
Thank you for responding.
At no point have I seen even a suggestion of a login area.in the Picard software.
I have spent several hours reading Picard’s web content to no avail.

My understanding is that I need a token (just a number) that proves I have full access to the MusicBrainz d/b. I’ve thoroughly searched my account page on MB, with no reference to a token.

Comments?

Regards,

Rumifan

Where do you see the need for such a token in MB Picard?
What step or function do you try to use?

The only thing where you need something like a token is the possibility to SUBMIT* data to AcoustID.
As long as you only request data from MusicBrainz, I’m not aware, that you need a token for full access.