My original mp3 file changes to unix executable. Why?

Hi,
I have an imac running Catalina 10.15.7 I have the newest updated version of MBPicard. I am a newbie. Just installed this.
My Problem. I have a folder of random mp3’s on my desktop. I play them using Foobar 2000 for Mac. I NEVER USE ITUNES!
I take all the mp3 files in the desktop folder and run them thru the Cluster/Lookup/Scan aspects of MBP. It finds new tagging info on 95% of them. GREAT! I created another folder on my desktop called RENAMED FILES. I tell MBP to put all the retagged files there. I hit SAVE. Instantly my original mp3 disappears. I then go to the RENAMED FILE and here is a typical folder tagging that my old mp3 has been changed to:

Supertramp: >2014:>Crime Of The Century:>Supertramp - School:>

so all that is great… but the final file folder should contain my newly retagged mp3… but it doesn’t. It contains a little square icon of a black box with three tiny green dots in it. Next to that it says: _mp3 and the Kind (of file) has changed from .mp3 to now being listed as Unix Executable …which is not playable. My original mp3 is just gone!

Where is my newly retagged mp3?
Why did it change my file to something unplayable?
What am I doing wrong?

Any help you guys can give would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks, Michael

Sounds like you can rename the _mp3 files and pop a .mp3 on the end to fix this. Something in your file naming script forgot to put .mp3 back on the end of the filename.

You know these are the real files as they are still the same size.

Lets see an actual filename. We’ll then help workout how to quickly rename them.

I tried to change it back back to .mp3 from _mp3 (a trick I’ve used before…) but it says:

You can’t use a name that begins with a dot because these names are reserved for the system.

Please post the file naming script that you are using in Picard. I suspect that you have an extra slash at the end that’s causing the problem.

1 Like