MusicBrainz replacing correct tags with wrong ones?

Im still new to Picard and have been trying to use it to get my library of 40000-60000 titles cleaned up. So far I wasn’t really successful at doing so.

My biggest issue is that MusicBrainz keeps replacing correct tags with wrong tags & splitting complete albums into multiple incomplete ones.

For instance:
My album “The Art of Motion” by Andy McKee was previously correctly tagged and in a folder-structure indincating that all the songs belong together. MusicBrainz splits off a single track into a new album with only “yellow accuracy” replacing its correct tags with wrong ones and thus creating 2 incomplete albums instead of having 1 completed album. You can find a screenshot of this here: https://imgur.com/a/0zJgLEW (along with a few more examples similar to this).

Is there any way to prevent this from occuring or -at the very least- reducing the odds of it happening?
As I said, I’m fairly new to this so it’s quite possible my settings are messed up.

Thanks for your help =)

Picard can’t be perfect. So you will always have to act as the human with the brain checking what the automatic machine takes a “best guess” at.

Personally I always work in batches of very small numbers of albums and double check everything.

Your screen shots are good examples of Picard being almost right, but you then need to drag a few tracks around into the the correct album.

This is probably happening as MusicBrainz does not have an AcousticID for every track. Or sometimes you may have the exact same tracks with same AcousticIDs appearing on multiple releases (Deluxe editions especially).

So it is very common to get results like you have in your example. Just drag and drop those tracks matched to the wrong album up into the correct album before you hit Save.

1 Like