Metadata Genre Whitelist tag not ignoring excluded genres

I’m pretty new to the advanced features of Musicbrainz. In the past, I have used this platform to simply rename files properly and retag some basic metadata info. Now im moving on to advanced features to prep my database for my kodi library and I’ve come to the genre portion and can’t seem to get this quite right and haven’t found any forum posts related to my issue (close, but not quite).
I have a long list of accepted genre’s that I am using for inside of kodi, I have imported this list to Musicbrainz as acceptable genre’s to use else ignore the genre. The issue is that the whitelist does not seem to exclude the genre’s that I am wanting to exclude and instead writes them to metadata anyway.
I am using the Last. fm.ng plugin
my whitelist criteria
indent preformatted text by 4 spaces
-seen live
-favorites
-fixme
-owned
+70s
+80s
+90s
+a cappella
+acid house
+acid jazz
+acid rock
+acid-house
+acid-jazz
+acid-rock
+acid
+acoustic guitar
+acoustic pop
+acoustic rock
+acoustic
+action
+adult alternative pop
+adult alternative rock
+adult alternative
+adult contemporary
+alt country
+alternative & punk
+alternative country
+alternative folk
+alternative rap
+alternative rock
+alternative
+ambient
+americana
+ancient
+art rock
+arthouse
…Many other genre’s formated in the same way
Last genre entry to exclude all other genres

Example track: Arch Enemy - 05 Revolution Begins
Genre’s pulled in Metal; Thrash Metal; Viking Metal; Heavy Metal

I am wanting to exclude Viking Metal…all other genre’s are acceptable. However, it seems they are all included anyway. Oddly, If i test this in the playground section of the Metadata>Genre’s menu, Viking Metal is said to be excluded. So i don’t understand why this is happening.