Last.fm misspellings

Hello.
I’m new to MusicBrainz and Last.fm. My problem is about duplicate tracks on Last.fm. I read that Last.fm’s database is from MusicBrainz. An example is the track [Esta Cobardia] by Julio Iglesias. The correct Spanish spelling is [Esta Cobardía] with [í]. I’m getting duplicate scrobbles because on Spotify it is [Esta Cobardia], while on my local music player it is with [í]. Does adding aliases to the MusicBrainz database fixex same track with different spelling on Last.fm immediately or should I do something else to merge the two tracks as one to prevent messed up scrobbles? I’ve already submitted an alias and waiting for votes.

1 Like

Last.fm will get whatever track name you have set in your file tags.
Once you have submitted scrobbles as Title A, it cannot be merged with scrobbles for Title B.

Update

But when your playing file contains a recording MBID (or track MBID?) among its tags, then your scrobbles for this file will be dynamically renamed each time the MB recording (or track?) is later renamed in MB.
Or is it only valid for ListenBrainz?

1 Like

I think that level of renaming post-scrobble is exclusive to ListenBrainz. The Last.FM API allows ingestion of an MBID via track.scrobble, but it’s optional, and up to the client whether they provide it or not (API Docs | Last.fm).

@AbdBa21 do you know the application name of player you are using to scrobble local plays to Last.FM?

I’m using BlackPlayer on Android. Last.fm reads the exact tag with [í]. Let’s say I used AIMP on Windows and scrobbeled the exact same track, it would also scrobble it with [í] I got lost in your reply because I’m a beginner. Can you please explan? Thanks in advance.