Huge Log File

Newbie question… I am a relatively new user, and had been using the program for a little while now and then notice that a file with the name of picard.exe.log has grown to be 3.7 GB in size! What is this file for? And can I delete it?
Thanks

After seeing my Windows 10 update fail a couple times, I found out it was due to a lack of available space on C:. My research eventually led me to the users\name\appdata\roaming\musicbrainz folder, where I found the same picard.exe.log file markinhfx mentions in his original post. However, my log file was 53GB.

As a developer myself, I understand that logs are necessary, but you guys need to implement some sort of cleanup function or at least limit the size of the log by default. 53GB is ridiculous.

Thank you for writing a cool product.

Wow - what on earth can fill a log like that? My six month old install is 156KB of log file.

Made me laugh looking inside as it keeps repeating an “error” of:
I: 11:56:20 Plugin directory ‘D:\Program Files (x86)\MusicBrainz Picard\plugins’ doesn’t exist

Errr… yeah. The folder doesn’t exist. Plugins shouldn’t be in there anyway as mine seem to be in %APPDATA%\Musicbrainz\Picard\Plugins\ and seem to work fine.

So I have a log, but all it logs is Picard’s own daft mistake. And clearly no one at Picard is looking at the logs or daft mistakes like that one would have been solved.

But getting to 53GB with a TEXT file is quite an effort. Must be pretty horrendous trying to use Picard in that state. Must be really comical as to the speed difference in Picard once you deleted that thing.

Kinda worrying that there is no mention in the OPTIONS or the INI file about this log. Must be some way of killing it.

It’s actually on a media server. I was experimenting with tools that could help me organize files and MusicBrainz was one that I read about. I haven’t used the application in over a year so I’m not sure what was in the log file. It was pretty comical, though. lol