Help with specific folder and file naming script

Hi! I am completely new to this tool and have been trying to setup a script that names my music and folders the way i want but can’t get it to work. In short i want the folders to be “Various Artists” when it’s a compilation or similar and only the original composers name when it’s classical music. Other music seems to be getting named the way i want already.

For file naming i would like to have %artist%/%album% %(releaseyear)%/%disc#%-%track#% - %track%
So what i want is: Alexander Borodin/Symphonies (2007)/1-01 Symphony No. 1 in E-Flat: I. Adagio – Allegro - Andantino

What I’m getting is: Borodin; Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra, Gennady Rozhdestvensky/Symphonies/1-01 Alexander Borodin - Symphony no. 1 in E‐flat major_ I. Adagio - Allegro - Andantino

Is this doable? Please let me know if i need to clarify anything/ made a mistake and thanks in advance!

Welcome to MusicBrainz, mogp~

I’m not too familiar with tagging classical music myself, so I don’t know if I can be much help there. it’s possible @rdswift or someone else might be able to help?

for “Various Artists”, is it not already sorting them that way? if not, you might use:

$if(
	$eq(
		%musicbrainz_albumartistid%,
		89ad4ac3-39f7-470e-963a-56509c546377
		),
		[Various Artists],
	$noop(** put the rest of your code below here **)

$noop(** put the rest of your code above here **)
 )

you could use a different name for your “Various Artists” folder by replacing [Various Artists] above. be sure you leave the comma at the end of that line.

if you want all compilations in one folder, i.e. “Best of the Beatles” and the like, there’s also a way to do that. I forget the exact code offhand…