Help with Picard tagger script

I’m not very good with this sort of thing, but I’ve cobbled this together so far for my naming script, but still need help to get the desired result I’m looking for.

Script:
%artist% - %album% $if(%date%,\($left(%date%,4)\))/$if($gt(%totaldiscs%,1),$num(%discnumber%,2).)$if(%tracknumber%,$num(%tracknumber%,2) -) %artist% - %album% - %title%

Right now, this outputs:
DiscNumLeadingZero.TrackNumLeadingZero - Artist - Album - Title … and places them in a directory named Artist - Album (YYYY)

What I want to get is (forgive my pseudo-code):
Directory per album: %artist% - %album% ([if exists]%Original Release YYYY% [if not]%Release YYYY%)
Tracks: DiscNumLeadingZero.TrackNumLeadingZero - Artist - Album - Title
Banned Characters: replace / with |

I just want to clean up the script, and get an if statement for the Original Release Year (YYYY) if it exists, and Release Year (YYYY) if not.

Any help is appreciated.

originaldate will always be available if a date is entered in the database. You should never have no orginal date and a date.

https://picard.musicbrainz.org/docs/tags/

So it sounds like you just need %originaldate% instead of %date%

That solves one problem, but I’ve been trying to get $replace to work to no avail.

Wrapping the entire thing with $replace($replace( **rest of script here** ,/,),_,) doesn’t seem to be working.

$replace($replace(%albumartist% - %album% $if(%originaldate%,\($left(%originaldate%,4)\))/$if($gt(%totaldiscs%,1),$num(%discnumber%,2).)$if(%tracknumber%,$num(%tracknumber%,2) -) %artist% - %album% - %title%,/,),_,)

I’m just trying to replace the ‘/’ and ‘_’ characters with nothing in both the directory name and the files.

I believe you got the syntax wrong, $replace takes 3 parameters. So that

should be
$replace( **rest of script here** ,/,_)

And of course, your full command should be edited accordingly.