Getting mismatch between file lengths reported in Windows File Explorer and Picard

I’m new to using any sort of metadata editor/lookup like Picard so my apologies if my lingo is not correct.
I have been using Picard to update/add metadata to a music collection and I’ve run into a snag I cannot figure out.
For a half dozen album collections I’m getting a strange behavior that I’ll do my best to describe.
Example: Album is “In Search Of The Lost Chord” by The Moody Blues. When I view the tracks in Windows 10 File Explorer the first track is called “Departure.mp3” and the reported Track Length in the File Properties is 00:00:44, which is correct. When I load that file into Picard the Track Length is reported as 2:26. Another Track in the album (Ride My See-Saw) in Picard is reported with a Track Length of 0:44 when it should have a Track Length of 3:39. And so on…
So all of the file names and track lengths are scrambled up when I load the Tracks into Picard.
I’ve stripped Tags from the files using Mp3tag but the issue remains.
I saw that in each of the offending albums folders in File Explorer there was an iTunes Playlist file which I’ve deleted because it is garbage I don’t need/want, and I’m wondering if there’s some kind of digital ‘signature’ or something that was added to these files by iTunes.
I’ve tried renaming the mp3 files to no avail.
I hope I’m explaining this clearly enough.
Anyone have any ideas of what is going on with these mp3 files and their ‘misinterpretation’ by Picard?

Can we get a screen shot of Picard with the tracks loaded? This sounds a little odd.

Picard and MP3Tag will just read file lengths from the file. So would Win 10.

When you have a file loaded, in picard, highlight it and at the very bottom on the status bar is the filename. Is this the file you think it is?