Europe releases why ''XE'' and not ''EU''?

Why are releases from Europe in short ‘‘XE’’ and not ‘‘EU’’ it’s really weird can someone explain this. i much rather have ‘‘EU’’ in my meta tags then ‘‘XE’’ what does it even mean… and if this is not right can we change it.

https://musicbrainz.org/doc/Release_Country
docs says; XE Europe for European releases where specific country unknown

So where specific country is unknown but the release is still from Europe so why ‘‘XE’’ and not ‘‘EU’’…

Might be a dumb question, i just don’t know what ‘‘XE’’ means.

1 Like

Most of MB’s country codes seem to come from ISO 3166-1 alpha-2. The EU code in that standard is reserved for European Union. We need a code for the continent, not the union, but that doesn’t seem to exist in the standard. That’s why MB needed to use one of the user-assignable codes.

I’m no expert but I think I got this right.

Edit: Other similar cases on that doc page: XC for Czechoslovakia, XG for East Germany, XU for [Unknown Country] and XW for [Worldwide].

Edit2: Some corrections in the 9th comment.

7 Likes

Europe is not a country. User-assigned “country” codes start with X. Hence, “XE”.

Thanks for the explanation.

BTW, we also need the union for all releases manufactured in the E.U., don’t we?

2 Likes

Good point. I can only imagine this becoming another drums vs. drumset case though :^)

Or probably less so if we write the name open.

Late edit: I stumbled upon AREQ-940 and think it should be linked to this discussion.

1 Like

There is an almighty set of confusions in the term “Europe” - and pray we stay away from the Politics! :rofl:

The Netherlands are in the EU and XE.

Norway and Switzerland are only in the XE.

The UK is about to get nicely confusing as it is about to stop being in the EU and only be in XE.

That UK case has already caused enough argument as UK releases are usually XE releases too. Except when they aren’t. (Mad little island that we are - Lolz)