Duplicate albums in Kodi

Hello all. I am new to MB and i had to take a krash course in learning it. I have about 3500 songs sittin in artins folders =albums=tracks. on my NAS in a music share… Last week i started to see duplicate albums in kodi. I investigated and compared the KODI output with my records on my NAS. I posted a similar post on the kodi forum and they suggested (and guided me) on how to use musicbrainz (mb).So i spent all of this week 42 hours to be precise in retagging all my music with MB.

All my greatest hits, albums MB identified them ad being from the Bee Gees. Hence I deleted all these albums. All the others i ran through MB some I clustered others mb identified correctly . some i had to scan. every time i was happy with the results i saved the results on a seperate a musicbrainz share on my nas.

Once i was happy with the saved results I moved the folder to a development share.I loaded into KODI the development share as my music source. All was fine then I started to reload from CD my the music i previously deleted, The first CD was for the ban d America. I ran these files through MB and clustered them and tagged them. when I go to load then into KODI and I go to their artist view I look at the artis i just uploaded and i see 2 albums one with album cover one without with the same list of songs (and I can play the songs from both albums)

I look at the mymusic72 db in kodi and I see 2 records with the for the same album. the only difference is that the albumid is different.

My question to you is how can this happen with the correct tag.? or am doing something incorrectly

Thank you for your time and response

1 Like

Fellow KODI user here.

If you have album that is trouble in KODI, move it out of the source folder completely. Hide it from KODI so it cannot be seen. (stick it on the desktop for now)

Next, go into KODI Settings \ Media Settings \ Library \ MUSIC LIBRARY and do a CLEAN LIBRARY.