Compilation Album Metadata

Hi!
Beginner here to MusicBrainz and Digital Music (Metadata) in general so apologies if this is too basic and/or in the wrong place on this forum. I hope to quickly find my way round the correct places.

I just downloaded my various MP3 files from several old computers to a Sonology NAS in the loft and have installed Roon for a better presentation of the music. My driving force is to cancel my various subscription services and go back to a previous life where I had control over my own music collection.

For albums by specific artists, everything seems to present itself very nicely indeed and Roon is working a treat. However for ALL my compliation albums (and there are many), the metadata is in a terrible state. These are the two main issues I am facing right now and would like help with: -

1. Every song in every various compilation album states the artists name as Various Artist. I would like to see who the artist is for a specific song in that album. Of course, I can add the artist name in manually by looking for it, but this defeats the whole object of usng MusicBrainz.