Classical Composer Scripting Advice

Hello all,

I’m a noob at scripting, but I was wondering if anyone could help me come up with a script regarding classical music. I’m trying to batch rename the metadata of a set of tracks so the existing title is prefixed with the composer’s last name, followed by a colon and a space, as in:

Composer’sLastName: ExistingPieceName

For example, say the original metadata title was something like this:

Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2 in C sharp minor

With the composer of the work being Franz Liszt, the idea is to append his last name in front of the existing title, if the original title didn’t include it:

Liszt: Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2 in C sharp minor

I’ve thought of some pseudocode to potentially implement this:

If composer’s last name is not already present in the title,
Then append composer’s last name before title, followed by a colon and a space.

If anyone might know a way to translate this to a script, I’d really appreciate it! I have many thousands of classical tracks in my digital library, and most of them exclude the composer’s name from the title, which makes it hard to determine the composer of the piece when skimming through the titles.

Thank you so much in advance!

~David~

I suggest you have a look at the Classical Extras plugin. Which version of Picard are you using?

I had checked the Classical Extras plugin, but it seemed to only offer the option of adding the composer’s name before the album name, not before each track (unless I missed it).

I’m running Picard Version 2.0.3.

Thanks again!

There are “hidden variables” for composer last names which can be applied in the tag mapping section. However, on review, I see that the “track composer” only works if the composer is also named as an album artist - I’ll do a tweak to add another variable.
It is probably also possible to do it using Tagger Scripts - maybe someone else can suggest how?