BookBrainz vs. Open Library

Hello, I am just getting started with BookBrainz and was looking to understand the differences between this project and Open Libary. I understand they are both open online book databases, and I’m trying to figure out which one I should commit to contributing to. Any help would be appreciated, thank you!

1 Like

For my information:

1 Like

Welcome Zenpai. There are a lot of differences but the most important, at least to me, is the possibility to add all kind of works (e.g. short stories, essays, poems and even journal articles) as a seperate entity.

An anthology looks like this here: Asimovs Science Fiction 48. Folge (Edition) – BookBrainz

and in OpenLibrary like this:

If you want to add the stories, your only possibiliy is to add them as a list in the content field.

But the most annoying thing about OpenLib is: it’s just a big mess with million of imported editions and ten thousands of dupes. Look for example this Donna Leon book:

This edition should have one entry not ten. And as a normal user you’re not allowed to merge them.

So, if you have fun adding data and all kind of works to a “real” database then BookBrains is your page. If you just want to manage your library without investing too much energy I would recommend “LibaryThing”: There you just import your books to a kind of “private” section and then manage your collection easily (but of course: no stories etc. just the complete book).

Hope that helps to decide :wink:

4 Likes

@indy133, can you remove the trailing /edit from this URL?
Otherwise we cannot access this page.

1 Like

yes, but now Zenpai has to push edit themselves, to see what I meant :wink:

2 Likes

My personal issues with the Internet Archive / Wayback Machine (which runs OpenLibrary) are twofold and related to content ownership: